Round tour Neualm - Lake Duisitzkar

From Eschachalm to Lake Duisitzkar via Neualm

Brunnen am Duisitzkarsee im Obertalzoom

Trail head:

Eschachalm, Obertal

Walking time:

4-4.5 hours for the round tour

The hike to Lake Duisitzkar via Neualm is a scenic round tour at the valley head of Obertal. Trail head and end point of the tour is Eschachalm at 1,211 m.

The trail head of the hike is at the hiking portal Eschachalm in the Obertal valley. Along the hiking path - alternatively you can choose a logging road - you hike towards Neualm and Keinprechthütte. The trail ascends equably to Neualm at 1,618 m above sea level. This first part of the hike takes about 1.5 hours of walking time.

Neualm (no innkeeper at the hut) is a good point to take a rest. Crossing the creek the trail then branches off out of the valley towards Lake Duisitzkar. The many tree roots on the trail and short steep passages require surefootedness. In general the trail between Neualm and Lake Duisitzkar is a constant up and down, without big difference in altitude. Through a timber forest and mountain pine fields you reach Lake Duisitzkar at 1,640 m after approximately 1.5 hours. Here, Duisitzkarseehütte and Fahrlechhütte invite for a rest.

Boosted from the snacks at the huts the last part of the round tour takes you from Lake Duisitzkar back to the trail head at Eschachalm. You can choose between descending on a hiking trail or via a logging road. Descending for about 1-1.5 hours you reach the trail head at the hiking portal and the nearby Eschachhütt'n invites for a cup of coffee and cake.

Rundwanderung Neualm - Duisitzkar

Von der Eschachalm über die Neualm zum Duisitzkarsee

Brunnen am Duisitzkarsee im Obertalzoom

Ausgangspunkt:

Eschachalm, Obertal

Gehzeit:

4-4,5 Stunden für die Rundwanderung

Die Rundwanderung über die Neualm zum Duisitzkarsee ist eine schöne Rundtour am Talschluss des Obertales. Ausgangs- und Zielpunkt für die Wanderung ist die Eschachalm auf 1.211 m Seehöhe.

Der Ausgangspunkt für die Wanderung befindet sich beim Wanderportal Eschachalm im Obertal. Wahlweise geht es zuerst entlang des Wanderweges oder des Forstweges in Richtung Neualm und Keinprechthütte. Der Weg steigt recht gleichmäßig zur Neualm auf 1.618 m an. Für dieses Wegstück benötigt man ungefähr 1,5 Stunden Gehzeit.

Nach einer kurzen Rast am Obertalbach oder der Terrasse bei der Neualm (die Hütte ist nicht bewirtschaftet) zweigt man bei der Neualm wieder talauswärts auf den Wandersteig in Richtung Duisitzkarsee ab. Hier ist aufgrund der vielen Wurzeln und durch kurze Steilpassagen unbedingt Trittsicherheit erforderlich. Im Allgemeinen ist der Weg zwischen Neualm und Duisitzkarsee jedoch ein gleichmäßiges Auf und Ab, ohne große Höhenunterschiede. Durch einen Hochwald und Latschenfelder erreicht man wiederum nach ca. 1,5 Stunden den Duisitzkarsee auf 1.640 m Seehöhe, an dem die Duisitzkarseehütte und die Fahrlechhütte zur Rast einladen.

Gestärkt von der Jause, geht es auf das letzte Teilstück der Runde - vom Duisitzkarsee zurück zum Ausgangspunkt Eschachalm. Wahlweise über den Wandersteig oder eine Forststraße geht es bergab und man erreicht nach weiteren 1,5 Stunden wieder den Ausgangspunkt, wo noch die Eschachhütt'n zu Kaffee und Kuchen einlädt.